Posted in DIY

And so we begin.

Here we are at the “official first post”! I love that! I mostly love that I can share all this crazy stuff with you guys, for example- My Office.

The place where I spend 6 hours,well lets be real… there are quite a few coffee breaks, laundry switching over and obviously getting distracted by whatever seems to happen like that perfect little ‘ping’ from iPad, neighbour watching, calling my Mom- well, you get it.

Regardless, this where I am SUPPOSE to be for 6 hours,  filled with a day of sewing, marketing, packing, and designing. Since we moved to Alberta from Ontario last August I have had to downsize my office in half. For real. Half! HOWEVER… I get a window. A really big window. I also like to call it the big square of distraction. Good God I have trouble focusing, maybe I should really be in the basement. So having said that, this space was definitely my first task when all the furniture got in place. Plus, I had a few orders to get done and what a better excuse to do a room right? Right. Here is the before…

IMG_0489 [218990]

I know, super bad photo, but I was stressed! I had rummage through the boxes in the basement and garage to find everything…but here is what I brought with me. My work table and my ironing board/storage table… and obviously fabric and stuff. So now we need to go shopping. Ikea.

My husband travels a lot for work, and what sucked the most was the fact that we moved into our new place ON THE OTHER SIDE OF THE COUNTRY and he gets right into the travelling thing straight away. It was awful. So the girls and I decided to plug the local Ikea into the gps and go get mommas office done.

First things first. ALWAYS know what your getting before you go. Ikea is bloody nightmare when you get lost in the whole “here is what you can do with all our stuff” floor. You know the one, upstairs where you get lost every five seconds trying to find one handle. Anyway, our plan was to be in and out. For real. And we did! Can you imagine! I was a complete freak running around and the kids trying to just figure out what the hell was happening…but we did it. Loaded up the shelves, the desk, filing cabinet and chair.

We get home. And the assembly begins. 4 hours. not to bad for Ikea right?! I must admit, I love assembling Ikea stuff, and  I have never had a missing part until last week. Whole other story there.

So here we are. This is what I did.

IMG_0490 [218992]

Pretty good eh?! Everything fits just where I need it to.

FullSizeRender [218618]

I know its not the best photo ever, but see my framed decal? My friend Nicola made that for me which was just the decal. here is her website if you are interested: http://www.sixtyforty.ca.  I added it on top of the glass of an old picture and painted the back of the glass. Here is an up close one of it.

IMG_0493

Nicola also did a small little decal for me which I put in an old frame and lined it with some linen. Super cute. Here it is.

IMG_0501

As far as my little things that I love the absolute most out of my new space is definitely adding my sewing thread board. This frame was a crazy gold painted thing, you know the one that everyone’s grandparents had…yup. From the grandparents house. It actually had a watercolor done by my mom in it so OF COURSE I saved it, just going to re-frame it into something nice. Well, I gave it a good coat of cream paint and my hubby helped me add little shelves in it to hold my threads and bobbins. Here it is.

IMG_0497

Now, because I actually work in this room, I need bars to hold my ties, suspenders etc. as I get them ready to sew- here is where Ikea really works for me. I even have the little “s” hook things to hang my patterns and cutters, and the silver buckets to store all sorts of odds and ends I need on a regular basis.

IMG_0498

As far as how long it took? Not to long, a couple of days  in total, it took about 1 day for me to install the shelves for the sewing machines and then the unpacking took a bit of time. But job well done I say.

Until next week friends,

Dana xoxo

Author:

I am that person. That person that is scatter brained- and literally. You know? on fire but can't find the water? Here is my life... fun things, sad things, creative things and normal things.

Leave a Reply

